Framework Laptop 13 and Linux

Seamless

Chris Langley
4 min readSep 24, 2024
The Framework Laptop 13 with Kubuntu

I recently purchased a Framework Laptop 13 to replace my MacBook Pro 14. I have become increasingly frustrated by Apple’s attempts to lock me into content and services and worried about the company’s forays into AI. As someone who likes to tinker with tech’, but has no formal expertise, I wondered if the Framework laptop might scratch an itch.

I purchased the last generation of Framework laptop. So no super high-res’ display or new Intel processors. I opted for the AMD Ryzen 7 7840U and added a decent amount of RAM and storage. The package took just over a week to arrive. Coming from the MacBook Pro 14, I worried that the drop in performance would be noticeable, even though my work is not particularly demanding (lots of multitasking and windows open, but very little video editing, for example).

I opted for the DIY version of the device, but ultimately there is very little to do when it arrives. I had to insert the memory, storage, keyboard deck and screen bezel. It took less than fifteen minutes. The way in which the keyboard deck can be removed means one can double-check the internals with ease: it connects magnetically and is the tightened with screws on the underside of the laptop base. It was a fun little project and has the added benefit of being completely modular: if I want to update any component later on, I am free to…

--

--