Apple Silicon MacBooks Pro: The Laptop that Keeps Going

Chris Langley
3 min readJun 7, 2024

The remarkable longevity of Apple Silicon MacBooks

The MacBook Pro

My MacBook Pro is three years old and it’s as fast and reliable as it was the day I bought it. It does every task with ease. Every day, the laptop is just…there. Working. No drama. In all of the hoopla about the fantastic (albeit flawed) iPad Pros, Apple is churning out laptop hit after laptop hit. And then they do their jobs, flawlessly, for years at a time.

The model I purchased has 16GB of RAM and the M1 Pro chip. It was the piddliest, puniest MacBook Pro you could buy at the time. It has one of the most glorious displays I have seen on a laptop. It is as bright as the day I took it out of the box. Switching monitors or screen resolutions is almost instant. I work as an academic, writing, making notes, doing some light photo/video editing and running my work virtual machine. I have a lot of windows open, but I do little that will tax the machine.

The 2021 MacBook Pro

Nevertheless, the durability of this thing is also impressive. Let’s get the gross bit out of the way first: the black keyboard attracts finger grease. It’s horrible, but such has been my experience of MacBook keyboards for some time…

--

--